Amy Read

What I Do

Go to My Resume

My Resume

See a complete summary of my work experience, professional skills and education.

Go to Volunteer and Service

Volunteer and Service

I’ve spent time volunteering in Europe and at home for causes I believe in. Click to see more about the organizations and groups I’ve served with.

Go to Photography


For the past three years, I’ve been doing amateur artistic and street photography. See some of my most recent work.

Go to Travel Blog

Travel Blog

I travel a lot, so I started a blog as a way to share tips and tricks as well as my experiences abroad.

Who I Am

Scientist - Artist - World traveler
I'm an aspiring sociologist, a Francophile and world traveler, and I'm preparing for doctoral work.

I'm an aspiring sociologist and researcher, an artist and amateur photographer, a Francophile and world traveler, and a student of the sciences and the humanities.

I'm trilingual, creative, dedicated, resourceful, efficient and responsible. I learn new things quickly, and I easily adapt to new situations and surroundings. I'm naturally curious about the world, particularly how people interact with each other, which is why I am choosing to study sociology.

I consider my home to be Michigan, and my heart will always be in the Midwest! I love the lakes, the forests, the open space and the abundance of plants and wildlife. As much as I love traveling, I make sure to visit home frequently.

I love yoga, figure skating and dancing. I like reading, discovering music, blogging, relaxing at the lake and spending time with friends and family. I also enjoy watercolor painting, street photography, meditating and experiencing new things - especially through travel and exploring other cultures. One of my favorite things is meeting people from all different backgrounds and getting to hear their stories, their beliefs and experiences.

Though I am getting my bachelor's degree in biology and French studies, a recent trip to France made me realize that sociology is what I'm really passionate about. I did a two-month-long individual research project on Islam in secular France, and I loved every minute of it. I loved talking to people, attending academic seminars as well as religious services, and getting to know the culture from the inside out. This summer, I'll be conducting another sociological research project in Senegal.

  • Native speaker

  • Full professional proficiency

  • Full professional proficiency

Contact Me